Simple backups in Ubuntu

3 11 2008

So, I was trying to find a decent way to carry out backups on my Ubuntu server. After trying and failing with many many different packages available from the Ubuntu repositories (keep, sbackup, backuppc) I came across rsback.

Rsback uses the highly recommended program rsync to make backups. It is basically a script for rsync that you need to add certain configurations to, to set up different backup jobs. It is set up in such a way as to perform incremental backups that occur daily and weekly – ensuring you always have a nice historical record of your files.

After messing around with so many other options, I found it the best option and highly recommend it. You need to get down and dirty with a text file configuration, but that is the norm with Ubuntu.

There are ofcourse many Windows options out there.

rsback

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 11 2008
More backup goodness with rsync | pruperting

[…] a while ago I posted about how to use rsync and rsback to backup important files and folders. Wanting to be extra safe, […]

8 01 2010
Backup Backup Backup | pruperting

[…] it was happily sharing my music out via samba, the next, everything had gone Luckily, I run a good backup solution, so all I had to do was get myself a new drive (upgrading to 1TB in the process) and copy […]

Leave a Reply

