Simple Bash Progress Script

21 04 2010

So, I wanted a way to monitor the progress of a Bash script I was running, since it could take a long time to run on occassion and I wasn’t sure if it had failed or not.

After some Ubuntu Forum googling, I came up with this:

#!/bin/bash
time=( $(tac /var/log/rsback/work-daily | grep -m 1 "total runtime" | awk '{ print $6 }') )
echo "last running time was" $time
/bin/rsback -v work-daily >> /var/log/rsback/work-daily &
pid=$!
trap "
#[ -e /proc/$pid ] && kill $pid
#" EXIT


while [ -e /proc/$pid ]; do
sleep 10
runtime=( $(ps ax | grep -m 1 zenity | awk '{print $4}') )
echo "#" $runtime
done | zenity --width 500 --progress --pulsate --title="work-daily running time: $time" --text="running time:" --auto-close
retval=$?


# If the progress bar was canceled, give a warning.
if [ $retval -ne 0 ]; then
zenity --title="work-daily rsback" --error --text="the work-daily rsback was cancelled" || exit 1
kill $pid
fi
time=( $(tac /var/log/rsback/work-daily | grep -m 1 "total runtime" | awk '{ print $6 }') )
zenity --info --title "Work rsback" --text "work rsback done in $time"
exit

It seems to work pretty well, though obviously this is customised for my particular needs (so it uses the command’s own log location etc). I thought I would share it with the world, since it took me a while to figure out. When I get the chance, I’ll update it to it can work with any command or script 😉

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

